What is the Maryland State Safety Inspection?
Most vehicles to be titled in Maryland are required by Maryland law to undergo a safety inspection. Generally, the seller or transferor of the vehicle is required to obtain the inspection certificate.
How do I obtain a Maryland State Safety Inspection Certificate for my vehicle?
To obtain an inspection certificate, you must have your vehicle inspected at an authorized safety inspection station in Maryland. The Maryland State Police has authorized Holzhauser’s Auto Service to inspect:
- Passenger cars;
- Light trucks and SUV’s with a gross vehicle weight rating of 10,000 pounds or less; and
- Trailers that are 20 feet in length or less, without air brakes.
It is best if you schedule an appointment for the safety inspection. The safety inspection should take about 1 hour for most vehicles once the inspector begins work. When the inspector has finished, he will prepare an inspection report that shows the vehicle parts or systems examined and whether or not they have met Maryland’s standards. See Appendix A for more information. We offer the most convenient Maryland state inspection in town.
What happens if my vehicle fails the safety inspection?
If your vehicle fails to meet even one safety standard, the Maryland Inspection Certificate cannot be issued. You must have the problem(s) identified on the station’s inspection report fixed and then have the vehicle re-inspected by the same inspector at the same station. You have the option of fixing the problem yourself, having the inspection station fix the problem, or taking the vehicle to another facility for repairs.
If the vehicle is re-inspected within 30 days after the original inspection date and you have driven it less than 1,000 miles, the inspection station will only need to inspect the defective equipment identified during the initial inspection. However, if a new defect is visually observed during the re-inspection, the newly discovered defect must also be repaired and re-inspected.
See Maryland's regulations (COMAR 11.14.01.10 (A(3)) for details. Note that the inspection station can charge you for each re-inspection, unless the repair can be visually verified. If you do not have the vehicle re inspected within 30 days or you exceed 1,000 miles, you will be required to pay for a new, complete inspection.
- The fee for an initial safety inspection is $79.95.
- The fee for the re-inspection for non-visual defects (If re-inspection requires jacking, lifting, measuring or testing the vehicle) is $38.00.